"Importing data from UCL Machine Learning Repository"

DrSnuggelsDrSnuggels Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited May 2019 in Help
Hi!

I'm quite new to RapidMiner and want, for a start, import some of the data sets from the UCL Machine Learning Repository at http://archive.ics.uci.edu/ml/. As I'm guessing from the RapidMiner documentation, these data sets seem to be in some sort of C4.5 format (at least they come with .data and .names files). But when I use the c45-importer, I always get errors like
: Line 1: the number of tokens in each line must be the same as the number of attributes (15), was: 10
Has anyone a hint for me how to import these files, resp. how I would have to alter them? Any help is welcome.

Greetings, Marius
Tagged:

Answers

• TobiasMalbrechtTobiasMalbrecht Moderator, Employee, Member Posts: 294 RM Product Management
    Hi Marius,

could you please post which data set you tried to load and resulted in the error you mentioned?! We can check, if the operator exhibits an error then.

Normally, you can also load the .data files also with the [tt]CSVExampleSource[/tt] or [tt]SimpleExampleSource[/tt] operators with parameters set appropriately. This however will not load the attribute names.

Regards,
    Tobias
  • DrSnuggelsDrSnuggels Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
    Hi Tobias!

Thanks for your answer. The problem ocurred with every dataset I tried to load, seven or eight at the least. If you want to have a try for yourself, you can take the zoo-dataset ( it's the last  one in the complete list), which gives me the same error message, just the numbers are different (...as the number of attributes (16), was: 18.).

The background: I'm helping to prepare a college course, and we want the students to try out some learning algorithms - not only by hand, but with real data. RapidMiner is quite new to us all, but it looks very promising. However, for that purpose it would be nice if we could say "import dataset xy which you can find at the UCL repo".