time series: predicting an aberrant year

cgkolarcgkolar Member Posts: 29 Maven
edited December 2019 in Help
Hi, I am new to trying to use time series analysis and would appreciate a pointer (or several).  Here is my hypothetical use case:

1.  200 students
2.  10 years of performance data for those students
3.  10 variables each year for each student

So, the questions.

1.  Is there a way to use an unsupervised classifier to "cluster" student-years to identify aberrant performance.  (ie: the student has a really good or a really bad year)
2.  Assuming that one of the classifications amounts to a "bad year," are there techniques that would allow us to look at the time series data to predict if the coming year is going to be good or bad.

I appreciate any help or pointers you can give.  I think right now I am trying to wrap my head around working with time series data, I am pretty comfortable modeling data and conditions that are static.  Thanks, Chris
Tagged:

Answers

• MariusHelfMariusHelf RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,869 Unicorn
    cgkolar wrote:

1.  Is there a way to use an unsupervised classifier to "cluster" student-years to identify aberrant performance.  (ie: the student has a really good or a really bad year)
    Hi, I suppose you want to cluster the year by student, not globally. In this case, you can loop over all students and apply e.g. k-Means for each student. Please have a look at the attached process.
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <process version="5.2.008">
      <context>
        <input/>
        <output/>
        <macros/>
      </context>
      <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" name="Process">
        <process expanded="true" height="100" width="413">
          <operator activated="true" class="generate_nominal_data" compatibility="5.2.008" expanded="true" height="60" name="Generate Nominal Data" width="90" x="45" y="30"/>