DatabaseExampleSource: Metadata

calvinuscalvinus Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi there,

I'm quite new to RapidMiner, but have some experience with SAS Enterprise Miner. I already set up a Decision Tree learning process and got some exciting results (well at least judging how they look ;)).
But what I'm missing now is the following:
In SAS Enterprise Miner you can tweak the variable roles on every node - like setting it to "ignore", "target" or whatever. I use a DatabaseExampleSource and when using the Database wizard I can set up the roles once - but after that I don't manage to get back to change those roles without doing the whole wizard again. What's the right approach to change the roles of variables from a DatabaseExampleSource? And is there a node type which can be used to do this?

Thanks again in advance and for this great piece of software.

Answers

• IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
    Hi,

thanks for your kind words.

And is there a node type which can be used to do this?
    Sure (is there anything in SAS not possible with RM  :P )

The node ("operator" in RapidMiner terminology) you are searching for is called "ChangeAttributeRole" - you can search for this in the Add Operator dialog or in the search field at the bottom of the New Operator tab. With this operator you can change regular attributes (used as input variables for the mining method) to labels, ids, weights etc. and back again.

Cheers,
    Ingo
  • calvinuscalvinus Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
    Hi Ingo,

thank you very much for your fast and helpful answer.
    I wondered if it is possible to access and change the metadata that is set in the DatabaseExampleSource. The problem I have with the ChangeAttributeRole is that it only changes one variable at a time.