generate attribute and filename in loop cycle

robbenrobben Member Posts: 9 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Goodmorning,
i am new at rapidminer and discovering it as great for ETL and analysis tasks.
Just a question i didn't find documented even if browsing around.
I need to load some csv files, treat these data adding an attribute to corrispondent dataset recorded the name of the file where they come from and then apped it in a unique dataset.
I used loop files operator with read csv, generate attributes subprocess operators and then an append operator.
But in generate attributes right now i am just able to write a fix name for all the files.
I don't know how to reference in generate attributes operator the changing file name for each iteration coming from loop files operator.
Is there any way to do it (for example with any process parameter) directly on Edit List in function descriptions or is there another way?
Thanks in advance

Answers

• mdcmdc Member Posts: 58 Maven

Try to use 'file name macro' parameter of the 'Loop Files' operator. This can be done by adding %{file_name} as a value to your attribute.
    I'm not actually sure if this is what your looking for, but you can post a sample ofย  your process so it's more clear.

Matthew
  • robbenrobben Member Posts: 9 Contributor II
    Matthew,
    it's perfectly what i was looking for. Thanks a lot
    is there any way to get filename without extension? I mean if the filename is ABC.csv just ABC
    Thanks
    Roberto
  • MariusHelfMariusHelf RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,869 Unicorn
    If you are familiar with regular expressions, you can remove the extension from the original filename with the Generate Macro operator and the ReplaceAll() function.

Best regards,
    Marius
    Thanks Marius,
    i will check that solution deepening regular expressions