Options

"How are L pos and L neg set in an SVM?"

eraskineraskin Member Posts: 1 Contributor I
edited June 2019 in Help
Noob here.  I am working on a basic classifcation problem (responders vs non-responders), where the cost of missing a responder is much higher than the cost of including a non-responder.  Specifically, the average sale is $115 and the average cost to mail somebody is $0.68.  We want to bias in favor of maximizing sales over minimizing cost to mail.

I can't find any documentation anywhere that shows how the "L pos" and "L neg" settings in an SVM are actually set.  Are they numbers between 0 and 1?  Are they relative weights for mis-classifying a positive "L pos" and a negative "L neg"?  In my case, I would interpret that as setting "L pos" much higher than "L neg", since I want to ensure that we avoid as many false negatives as possible.

Can somebody help me understand how this works?

Thanks in advance...

Eric
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    lel5287lel5287 Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
    I know this is a few months old, but I'm working on a very similar problem, so if anyone has any insight on this, that would be greatly appreciated.

Additionally, I'm still exploring classification methods for what I'm working on.  Is it possible to set similar loss criteria in other classification methods?  (False positives aren't too big of a deal, but false negatives are very costly--also, the test set includes very few responders compared to the number of non-responders, so a lot of methods that just look to improve accuracy without weighing false positives against false negatives classify almost everyone as a non-responder.)
  • Options
    MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,508 RM Data Scientist
    Hi,

i don't know what it is but i got eager to find it out.