"Split Text Case - RegEx dropping letters"

mobmob Member Posts: 37 Contributor II
edited June 2019 in Help
I have some text that comes in different cases sometimes tokens are TextendNewtext others textendNewtext I found this regex online for python
([A-Z])([A-Z])([a-z])|([a-z])([A-Z])

but when I apply it to my dataset using the replace tokens operator and ([A-Z])([A-Z])([a-z])|([a-z])([A-Z]) replaced by $1 $2 I get
Texten ewtext

I'm far from an expert in regex in any flavour but can anyone help me resolve this

Answers

• mobmob Member Posts: 37 Contributor II
    For reference this is the StackOverflow post where I got the regex http://stackoverflow.com/questions/15369566/putting-space-in-camel-case-string-using-regular-expression

is there a way in rapidminer to handle CamelCaseTextOfVariousLengths and split it into tokens?
  • MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist
    Hi mob,

why not simply use replace and replace capital letters with white space followed by the latter? Seems to work

~Martin

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <process version="7.0.000">
      <context>
        <input/>
        <output/>
        <macros/>
      </context>
      <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="7.0.000" expanded="true" name="Process">
        <process expanded="true">
          <operator activated="true" class="generate_data_user_specification" compatibility="7.0.000" expanded="true" height="68" name="Generate Data by User Specification" width="90" x="45" y="34">
            <list key="attribute_values">
              <parameter key="text" value="&quot;CamelCaseTextOfVariousLengths&quot;"/>
            </list>
            <list key="set_additional_roles"/>
          </operator>