document management and P2P

IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
edited June 2019 in Help
Original messages from SourceForge forum at http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?thread_id=1691354&;forum_id=390413

Hi All, hi rrudolph,

(This thread follows the discussion begun in 'P2P proposal')

Now, concerning document management, I am very keen on these features and I used to be a groupware manager for a year. Have a look at the state-of-the-art techniques, and you will distinguish "ready-to-comment" systems vs. "rigorous-procedures" systems. In the first category, you have blogs, forums, wikis, peer-to-peer, etc...In the second category, you have groupwares, social bookmarking, databases, workflows, etc...It relies mainly on the "reference" value one wants to give to one's data. The more often you have to refer to a group of datas, the more the datas have to be guaranteed (quality/duration), the more the time you spend to sort them out and publish them.
Managing '.xml' examples seems a very good idea, which should not be limited to beginners : If such a repository is well taken up to date, it can become useful to experts, but who knows ? As they are examples, they have a value but cannot be considered as a reference. So I would 'map' example management between 'ready-to-comment' and 'rigorous-procedure' systems, that is to say either Wiki or Peer-to-Peer or social bookmarking.

It would be interesting to have an information retrieval mechanism, a bit like in StumbleUpon (http://www.stumbleupon.com), for instance you design a Tree, and the machine tells tou : "Okay, this guy whose name is X is closest to what you are doing" or "the tree/block you have been designing looks like the example N°Y : want to see it ?"

Any comments ?
Cheers,
Jean-Charles.

Answer by Ingo Mierswa:

Hello Jean-Charles,