"data mining on school database"

ElmoElmo Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
edited May 2019 in Help
Hi all , I am new to data mining

I am trying to analyse the set of information on the students of a sma ll school
those are the grades in diferent subjects ( math sciences, english , french, ...) , the distance or time to come to school, family background, and the disciplinary record
I have the data in and excel file

can any exeperineced user of rapid miner give me some advice ?
Tagged:

Answers

• steffensteffen Member Posts: 347 Maven
    Hello Elmo and welcome to RapidMiner

Since you are are complete newbie to data mining, I suggest  that you go and get a good book. Here is a thread with suggestions for some literature: klick

It is much easier to give you more advice and help when you are able to specify your questions ... starting from such a general position one could start a data mining lecture ... hope you understand :)

kind regards,

Steffen

• ElmoElmo Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
    Thank you Steffen for your answer

I think I misexpressed myself :-(

I wanted to say I am new to rapidminer,  I downloadded it last week

I have been reading about data mining for four months, but you know theories are not identical to applications

may I ask some technical questions from time to time?

regards
  • steffensteffen Member Posts: 347 Maven
    Hello Elmo

Of course !  :)

I just wanted to clarify that "I have data, what now?" - questions are hard to answer.

kind regards,

Steffen
    hello Steffen

thank you very much

would you please tell me what mistake am I doing to get this message :

"Many operators like classification and regression methods or the PerformancEvaluator require the input example sets to have a label or class attribute. If this not the case, applying these operators is pointless. If you read the data using an ExampleSource, you can specify the label attribute by using a 'label' tag in the attribute description file."