RapidMiner vs. SPSS Modeler

ndf-lsndf-ls Member Posts: 8 Contributor II
Hello Community,
i am currently working on a comparison of the two mentioned data mining tools. The comparison should refer on the features of the softwares, as well as on the performance (for example for huge amount of datasets). Also, it would be interesting to know whether additional features can be implemented in RapidMiner?!
As i am still a newbie, do not know RapidMiner very well and SPSS not at all, i was hoping to get some information out of this forum.

Thank you very much in advance!
Leo

Answers

• imwaldverirrtimwaldverirrt Member Posts: 5 Contributor II
    I think you'd have to download trial of SPSS (http://www-01.ibm.com/software/analytics/spss/downloads/) and try to build some models in RM and SPSS yourself and then compare ;-)
    maybe that'll help you as well http://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007%2F978-3-540-77018-3_2
  • JEdwardJEdward RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 578 Unicorn
    Ah, I remember those days when needing to compare SPSS, RapidMiner & SAS to build a business case to management proving that just because RapidMiner didn't have a website with only 3 letters before the .com and was far less expensive that it would still be capable of doing what the business needed and therefore a better investment. 

Assuming this is for your business too, the first step in the comparison is to work out what you need, build a list of features & business goals you'd like to have and then go through them to see which of the two tools offers it (either out of the box or with an add in).  I'm happy to help you out on this if you need any advice. 
  • ndf-lsndf-ls Member Posts: 8 Contributor II
    Hey JEdward, thanks for your reply, im glad to find someone who can help me out.