How long is too long for a process to run? (details in post)

petter0619petter0619 Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hey,

I'm running the "23_Transactional2Basket" process with the following changes:
  • "Replace Operator" was switched to "Import Excel"
  • "Breakpoint After" was unchecked on the "Example2AttributePivoting" operator
The Excel sheet that I am importing contains ca 143,000 rows of data in 2 columns
(Transaction ID and Items). Right now the "Numerical2Polynomial" operator has been
running for over 20 hours. I'm wondering if that is a normal amount of time for a dataset
of this size or if something is wrong?

If something is wrong, is there some change I should make so that the entire set is run or
should I simply decrease the size of the Excel sheet?

Note that I am new to Rapid Miner and I've only ever used it to run the "23_Transactional2Basket"
process.

Thanks in advance for any answers.
//Petter

Answers

• Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,993 RM Engineering
    Hi,

no that is not normal. The "Numerical to Polynomial" should finish a dataset of this size in less than a second on a modern machine. I just ceated a dummy dataset with 145.000 entries and ran it on the sample process, it took just over 4 minutes with the "Pivot" operator taking most of the time.

What might happen is that you do not have enough memory available for Studio, in which case it will be really busy with trying to clean up after itself to free some memory. In extreme cases, almost 99% of computation power can be used to clean up memory in which case obviously everything else grinds to a halt. Can you open the "System Monitor" by clicking "View" -> "Show View" -> "System Monitor" in the top menu bar and check what happens when you execute the process?