[SOLVED] Unexpected output for linear regression operator

dysprosiumdysprosium Member Posts: 7 Contributor II
edited August 2019 in Help
I'm quite new to Rapid Miner and trying the linear regression for the first time. I’m applying the Linear Regression operator on a training data set, then outputting a regression model which is input to the Apply Model operator. Then I will apply the Model to an unlabelled data set.
There is one special attribute (label) and 3 regular attributes in the training data set. It has only 7 examples at the moment (easier for me to see what’s happening). The attributes are all integers.
In the attribute weights output from the linear regression, I’m expecting all of the 3 regular attributes to have a weight greater than zero. However, when I run the process only one attribute has a weight greater than 0. Its weight is 0.268. The other two attributes have a weight of 0. It seems as if the linear regression operator is ignoring those two attributes. Why?
The reason I expect all of the weights from the Linear Regression to be non-zero is because when I input exactly the same training set to the Vector Linear Regression operator, I get either positive or negative weights for all three regular attributes.

<process version="6.0.002">
 <context>
   <input/>
   <output/>
   <macros/>
 </context>
 <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="6.0.002" expanded="true" name="Process">
   <process expanded="true">
     <operator activated="true" breakpoints="after" class="retrieve" compatibility="6.0.002" expanded="true" height="60" name="Retrieve regression data Oct 13 training set 1 special (label) attribute 3 regular attributes" width="90" x="112" y="75">
       <parameter key="repository_entry" value="../data/regression data Oct 13 training set 1 special (label) attribute 3 regular attributes"/>
     </operator>