Options

Bringing arbitrary mathematical functions to RapidMiner for generating data sets

likeasir001likeasir001 Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hello,

I have just started writing a thesis at my university where I am supposed to make an analysis of the t-test and my first assignment is to get a bit more familiar with the t-Test Operator which is implemented in RapidMiner and how it actually works.

I should probably mention right away that my knowledge in statistics and hypothesis testing is still rather limited at this point because I am studying mechanical engineering and statistics are not really a big part of our curriculum.

So what I would like to do right now is:

1) generate a data set using a mathematical test function of my choice
2) add noise on that previously created data set
3) build estimation models using the already implemented learning functions like linear regression/polynomial regression etc. and use cross-validation for performance evaluation
3.2) also import the mathematical function that was used before to generate the data for performance measurement
4) perform a t-test using the performance results provided by the different cross-validation operators

So basically what I want to do is to generate data from a mathematical function, add some noise onto that data and then see how well the estimation performance turns out to be if I use the same function that was used to generate the data for performance evaluation.

Let me explain step by step and point out where I need help:

1) generate a data set using a mathematical test function of my choice

I know that I could also do this using Excel and then import the Excel sheet into RapidMiner, but I would like to know if there is a way to directly import/implement a mathematical function.

For example the Rosenbrock function which is F(x,y) = (a-x)²+b*(y-x²)²

or the Three-hump camel function F(x,y) = 2x²-1,05*x^4+(x^6/6)+x*y+y²