"using a 3rd party API"

sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager
edited June 2019 in Help
Hi...I am foolishly trying to do something beyond my comp sci abilities - extending RM.  Specifically I am trying to use this API within "Execute Script" in order to pull data into RM:
import com.benwaffle.pslib.PSlib;
PSlib api = new PSlib("https://ps01.bergen.org");
api.login("username","password");
Grade[] grades = api.getCourses()[0].getGrades();

for (Grade g : grades)
 System.out.printf("%s - %d%%", g.name(), g.score());
I put the PSlib.jar file into the /lib folder and I get an error that says..."unable to resolve class com.benwaffle.pslib.PSlib..."

Help?  I have NOT done the tutorial on how to build RM extensions as I am not a programmer and certainly do not know how to program in Groovy or Gradle.  The API was pulled from here: https://github.com/benwaffle/PSlib

Thanks!

Answers

• Marco_BoeckMarco_Boeck Administrator, Moderator, Employee, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,993 RM Engineering
    Hi,

you are on the right track - however the .jar you added to your /lib folder does not contain the class "com.benwaffle.pslib.PSlib". You can open a .jar with any tool used to extract .zip files. You can then have a look at the folders and .class files in there. Folders represent the package structure (e.g. "com.benwaffle.pslib"), and the .class files are the actual Java classes (e.g. "PSlib").
    You will see that neither the folders nor the class exist in the .jar which is why you Studio complained it knew nothing about the imported class.

Regards,
    Marco
  • sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager
    HI Marco -

I was hoping you would chime in to help.  :)