polynomial classfication by using SVM

ShaguShagu Member Posts: 5 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

I kept getting errors of using SVM to do polynomial classification? I am quite new to data analytics. Any help would be appreicated.

Answers

• IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder

Hi and welcome to our community,

The message means that you try to make a prediction for a label (or "target") with more than two categorical values (which is called "polynominal" in RapidMiner).  And the SVM you are using is not supporting this type of data.  Try the operator "SVM (LibSVM)" instead which can handle this.

You can check what types of data is supported by a machine learning model if you right click on the operator and select "Operator Info".  You will see a table describing the supported data types.

Another useful resource is the following web page: http://mod.rapidminer.com

Here you can make settings describing your data and it will show you the model types which can be used on that data.

Hope that helps,

Ingo

• ShaguShagu Member Posts: 5 Contributor I

Ingo, thank you very much! This is very helpful. Following your instruction, there seems no logistic regression for polynominal labels. Did I miss anything to use logistic regression for multi classification?

• IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder

Hi,