how to input real data into arima model?

marielongmarielong Member Posts: 5 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

hello

I am a beginner of arima, and wanna ask some question 

a.png

after I found the arima (1,0,1) coefficients, how can I actually use them into real data like below in excel:

b.png

I've read many of the articles, they only provide the original algebra equation,

something like this, which I wanna know is how to use in pratical.

If I am gonna predict the price of date 15, which column should multiply which coefficient to make the result come out?

Thanks very much

Tagged:

Best Answer

• earmijoearmijo Member Posts: 270 Unicorn
    Solution Accepted

Your estimated model is:

Y(t) = 4.17 + 0.70* Y(t-1) + e(t) - 0.71* e(t-1) 

This means you need a series for Y(t) and another one for e(t). It looks to me the program you are using is Stata (and some in this forum will ask : Why didn't you ask the question in a Stata forum).

You can get the series for the residual ( e(t) above) using:

predict r, resid

Now plug in the values and you'll get your forecast. 

Of course, you could directly get the forecast in Rapidminer or in Stata with the appropriate command. 

predict r, resid

Answers

• sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager

hello @marielong - welcome to the User Community.  Did you do a search for "ARIMA" in the "Search the community..." bar above?  There is a thread on exactly this question that has been taking place for the past week (http://community.rapidminer.com/t5/Getting-Started-Forum/How-future-predictions-can-be-made-with-a-Time-Series-model-in/m-p/42249#M1002) as well as a KB article.

Hope that helps.

Scott

• marielongmarielong Member Posts: 5 Contributor I

Hello earnijo, thanks for your kindness 

c.png

It came out like this

date15 value= 4.17 + 0.70*10749 - 0.71* 217,555 = 7427,35