beginers question

shoneshone Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi, in my coledge we have one project about data mining, and the tool we use is rapidminer. Since I'm new to rapidminer, a have one question for you. My process looks like this:

Root
     ExampleSource
     FeatureSelection
           XValidation (number_of_validations = 10)
           MetaCost
                 DecisionTree
           OperatorChain
                 ModelApplier
                 ClassificationPerformance

I figured that model building is happening in iterations and the model we get at the and is the one that has the best results. When the process is finished, it shows me PerformaceVector in form of confusion matrix. The question is: Is that ConfusionMatrix for the last model, or for the best model?

Answers

• steffensteffen Member Posts: 347 Maven
    Hello and welcome to RapidMiner

The answer is: the last model. But: Since the FeatureSelection stops when no more improvememt can be achieved (see description of FeatureSelection in tutorial.pdf or by selecting the operator and press F1) it is also the best model, which can represent a local maximum.

See another example in <your-rm-workspace>\sample\05_Features\10_ForwardSelection.xml.

regards,

Steffen

• shoneshone Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
    Thanks for the reply. :)
    The reason I asked this is, because, when I save the model (which is result of the given process), and load it in another process and apply it to the same data set, that was used in in the first process, Confusion matrix produced by ClassificationPerformance is different then the one in first process. Why is that?
    Ok, I think some terms have been mixed up. In the future please provide the complete setup (just copy all the text from the xm-tab in RapidMiner ... and put it into the thread by please using the code (#) tag).