No job agent connected, Rapidminer Server 8.1 on Azure image, Linux

MikeLeeMikeLee Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited July 2020 in Help

Hello community, 

I am a beginner for Rapidminer Server. I thought using the Rapidminer Server image would be easier to quickly jump start. So I registered an account on Azure, created a virtual machine using Rapidminer Server 8.1 image. Everything seemed to be working. I can login using the web interface. I can upload processes to the server. However, I had the following problem...

I created a very simply decision tree model using the sample dataset built in Rapidminer Studio. I uploaded the process to the server without any problem. However, the process never run on the server.  It says the processes are en-queued. I run the process multiple times. But they all in the pending status. On the Queues page, all the jobs were in the pending. And it required me to install Job Agent. Please see the screen shot.  I tried to follow the link on the screen ("Find out more about how to install and connect a Job Agent here.") and read the documentation. However, the instructions are for some operations on the server side. Azure gives very limited access to the Linux server, very difficult to set up the remote desktop. I tried to use Putty to access to the Azure virtual machine. I am not familiar with Linux. So I decided to ask you folks first, and see if I am in the correct direction.

My specific question is 1) Has anyone had this issue before on Azure Rapidminer Server image? 2) Is the process not running problem because of the job agent not installed? 3) Is there an easy way to fix this issue? 4) Is the job agent thing something new only for Rapidminer Server 8.0 and later versions?

Thank you in advance!       

Mike

Answers

• curious95curious95 Member Posts: 12 Contributor II

@MikeLee 

1) Has anyone had this issue before on Azure Rapidminer Server image?