Options

Rankings Attribute is being tagged by RapidMiner as Real data type?

rorasroras Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hi guys! 

I'm new to RapidMiner and I need your expert opinion regarding my problem. 

I have a dataset with Ratings attributes (1-5 and 1-10) which I consider to be Ordinal type of data however, RapidMiner recognizes them as Real data type. I checked the csv file that I uploaded and the ratings are in whole numbers but everytime I try to upload it in RM using the Import Configuration Wizard (I tried the Add Data Option as well), I see them as decimal (e.g. 1.0, 7.0, 9.0, 5.0). Thus, RM recognizes it as Real type of data. See photos below or you can try helping me by uploading the dataset yourself (just make sure to choose UTF-8 as File Encoding type whenever you import it in RM. :))

Excel.JPG

RM.JPG

Is it just me or is there something wrong with my laptop? Can you please help? I attached the dataset together with this post. 

P.S. Can you help me with the date as well? On the csv the format of the date is dd/mm/yyyy but when it goes to RM, the format turns into yyyy-mm-dd and there's no date format like that in RM.

Thanks in advance! 

Rem

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Options
    Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn
    Solution Accepted

You need to Sort your dataset first by Ranking in order to get it to display in the correct order in the graph.

In terms of whether you want the decimal or not for numerical attributes, you can use the Format Numbers operator to remove it if it bothers you.  RapidMiner is set to display it by default.

Brian T.
    Lindon Ventures 
    Data Science Consulting from Certified RapidMiner Experts

Answers

• Options
    sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager