Read greek, danish etc. html pages

mike075imike075i Member Posts: 11 Contributor II
edited December 2018 in Product Feedback - Resolved

Hi guys,

I am new to RapidMiner Studio. I want to do a web scraping task which crawls some greek (and later danish etc) HTML sites and extracts the content. In the resulting columns, all the Greek letters are looking wired as the screenshot shows.

01_.JPG

The Process Document from Data operator contains the following two components.

02_.JPG

One Idea was to add the Keep Document Parts and add some regular expression for UTF-8 so I have inserted in the extraction regex parameters: \p{L} for all languages related to this article: Java regex for support Unicode?. But that did not fix the problem. So my questions are:

1. What regular expression is the right one?

2. Is there any other way to achive the columns containing the greek letter?

Thank you in advance for help

Tagged:
0 votes

Fixed and Released · Last Updated

WE-38

Comments

• MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist

Hi,

did you try to change the main process encoding to UTF-8? you can get there by clicking into the white of "Process".

Best,

Martin

- Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
  • mike075imike075i Member Posts: 11 Contributor II

Hi, yes but it didn't fixed the problem. Below I have posted the screenshot of the output of the Extract Content component, too.

01.png

I have done the same process using the Read RSS Feed in the main process instead of the Crawl Web component and the encoding works fine. I don't know why using the Crawl Web component this problem occurs :(

• jwpfaujwpfau Employee, Member Posts: 274 RM Engineering

This looks like ISO-8859-7 interpreted as UTF-8 to me. Do you have the URL of the crawled website?