Options

Classification Advise

nikpap201nikpap201 Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited August 2019 in Help

Greetings to all community members!

I am new at using the very interesting RM and I am working on a classification problem. For an experienced user these might be easy questions and that is why I would like your advice.

I have a data set of 13000 rows. I am trying to predict if a bank is going to sell their product through cellphone or telephone (label = Yes/No) having some data about their clients (age, job, personal loan, house loan, balance etc). I have tried to use Decision Trees, ANN and SVM. But in my question I am only going to ask about Decision Trees.

My data’s types are binominal, polynominal and integers. For some of those attributes there are a lot if missing values which were already filled with “unknown” values in the data that I have. And one of them for example “pdays” -> number of days that passed by, after a client was last contacted from a previous campaign (-1 means client was not previously contacted) it is filled with -1 values when someone was not previously contacted.

What I did first is to run my algorithms without any preprocess to have my first results to use them as baseline (using Cross Validation).

After that and having seen that my data is unbalanced (12% Yes and 88% No), I did both upsampling and downsampling methods to see which one gives the best results. And then I did optimization of the parameters to see some first results. Using upsampling in my case would give the best results.

But I was thinking that I should do some preprocessing as well. What I was thinking of doing are the followings:

1)Missing Values: