Python or R on the side?

asav_yuasav_yu Member Posts: 15 Maven
edited December 2018 in Help

Hi Guys,

I am new to data mining and I was wondering should I be learning Python on the side as I learn RapidMiner? Is there really a benefit to me as a business person to know all the details behind every operation/algorithm. I am trying to find a perfect mix between time spent learning and practice. I feel like RapidMiner provides more then enough operators to apply to most problems, why do I need to learn the code? All the courses on data science I look at are all Python/R related. Should I focus more on statistics? Anyways any advice is highly appreciated. Thank you!

Tagged:

Answers

• Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

@asav_yu you sound a lot like where I was a few years ago. My suggestion is start with RapidMiner and learn this platform. You can do >95% of all types of use cases right inside RM without the coding in Python or R. 

If you still want to learn a language, I'm very partial to Python. I like it cause I come from an Engineering background and it reminds me of that way of thinking. I can write R scripts if I really have too but it's not my first choice. That's me. 

• sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager

@Thomas_Ott I think that is the best "newbie data scientist" advice I have read in a long time. Well said.

Scott

• SGolbertSGolbert RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Member Posts: 344 Unicorn

Hi @asav_yu,

From a business analyst perspective, I think that knowing about machine learning is important. For example having a basic idea on how your classificators or regressors work, and what to do to improve them. A lot of this information you can get in this site (look for the Training menu)!