How to forecast and improve model simultaneously

gp3354gp3354 Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hello!

I’m new to Data Science and RM.  

I am asking for some help in the following task. I am building a model, that would forecast energy consumption for every day. I have a lot of training data and I have already prepared input parameters of one month of test data. Because test data are from past, I also have the exact energy consumption figures for the whole month. So, I would like to validate my model, based on this test data.

Is there any function in RapidMiner that would predict energy consumption for the first day of the month, then take the exact consumption figure from an additional file and use it as a training data and after that predict energy consumption for the second day of the month? Then again, take the exact consumption for second day, use it as a training data and predict consumption for day three of the month, and again, and again, for the whole month.

What I actually need is an algorithm that would predict, then learn from some extra information (not previously known) and train again, repeat this whole task again. 

I would appreciate some good advice, thank you in advance!

Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• gp3354gp3354 Member Posts: 2 Contributor I

Hello rfuentealba

thank you for the elaborate answer, you're amazing. 

I was hoping there might be a built-in function that would solve that problem recursively, but your answer was helpful anyway. 

• rfuentealbarfuentealba Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Member, University Professor Posts: 568 Unicorn

Hi @gp3354!

Glad it helped.

A little while after I replied, I thought about something else that you should take in consideration. As I don't know what your data looks like, I'll make something up to explain my point.

Let's say this is your data:

Monday, 101kw

Tuesday, 97kw

Wednesday, 98kw

Thursday, 94kw

Friday, 104kw

Saturday, 119kw

Sunday, 93kw.