"Import data PDF documents"

nina_ploetzlnina_ploetzl Member Posts: 12 Contributor I
edited May 2019 in Help

Hi there!
I'm completely new to rapid miner - and can't manage to import PDF files into the repository.

It says that it's an unknown file type. I'm sorry for the completely (!) basic question, but I can't find anything about that in the getting started training.

Thank you very much for your help!

Best Answer

• MarcoBarradasMarcoBarradas Administrator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Member Posts: 272 Unicorn
    Solution Accepted

Hi what do you want to do with the PDF? I guess you are goin to try to do some text minning with them or you will try to extract some table data from them.

You will need yo install the text minning extensions. In order to do so you need to open Extension->MarketPlace and serch for the extension. 

In case you need to extract tables alse install data table extraction.

After that you need to build a process that suits your need. 

I'm posting and example

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><process version="8.2.000">
    <context>
    <input/>
    <output/>
    <macros/>
    </context>
    <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="8.2.000" expanded="true" name="Process">
    <process expanded="true">
    <operator activated="true" class="text:read_document" compatibility="8.1.000" expanded="true" height="68" name="Open a PDF" width="90" x="112" y="34"/>
    <operator activated="true" class="pdf_table_extraction:pdf2exampleset_operator" compatibility="0.2.001" expanded="true" height="68" name="Get tables from a PDF" width="90" x="112" y="136"/>
    <operator activated="true" class="concurrency:loop_files" compatibility="8.2.000" expanded="true" height="68" name="Use this one for more than One PDF" width="90" x="246" y="34">
    <parameter key="filter_type" value="regex"/>
    <parameter key="filter_by_regex" value="(?i).*pdf"/>