Vlookup in Rapid Miner?

kyrakyra Member Posts: 5 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hello!

I'm quite new to Rapid Miner and was wondering if there's a VLOOKUP equivalent in it?

I work with two sets of data - the first one being sales file where our supplier lets us know which products have sold, how much etc. The second file is a reference file, which I use to check all product names with codes (ie: Product 1 = GBCIF281939499). 

Is there a way to do this in Rapid Miner?

Kyra

Answers

• Gonfiaf_ZuraikGonfiaf_Zuraik Member Posts: 9 Contributor II

hello @kyra

if you choose the "Turbo Prep" in the Views, you will see that one of the actions there is called PIVOT, if you click it, it will give you the opportunity to group the data by the columns you want, and it also gives the possibility to aggregate. try it might be it will help you with your concern :)

as I am also new to RapidMiner, I would be so pleased if this answer could help :smileyhappy:

Cheers and Good luck

Jana

• BalazsBaranyBalazsBarany Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert Posts: 955 Unicorn

Hi @kyra,

the concept of Excel's VLOOKUP is called a "join" everywhere else.

Use the Join operator with the two input example sets, and set the common attribute (the product code).

Decide if you only want to keep matching rows (inner join) or also keep entries without matching product codes (left or right join).

Regards,

Balázs

• kyrakyra Member Posts: 5 Contributor I

Thank you, that was super helpful!

Is there a way to create a process where Rapid Miner creates a new column with the matching product codes?

For example - after cross referencing both files, a new column is created in the output file called Final Product Code (for example), where it shows you a list of all the Product Codes it was able to match, and highlights the ones that weren't matching or missing?