New guy ... help interpreting data

ad2045ad2045 Member Posts: 5 Newbie
edited June 2019 in Help
Experts,

I need some help interpreting the output of auto-model. I have a true/false label with 600/11000 values and approximately 12,000 examples. At first glance, the random forest is more accurate, but then the AUC is much higher for the gradient Boosted Trees, and the precision points at decision trees and random forest. I am not an expert in statistics and I would much appreciate if someone can break this down for me and tell me if any of the predictions are statistically meaningful and how I go about determining that.

Thank you!

Model Accuracy (%) Classification Error (%) AUC Precision (%) Recall (%) F-Measure (%) Sensitivity % Specificity (%)
Naive Bayes  93.1 6.9 0.859 26.7 23.0 24.7 23.0 96.7
Generalized Linear Model 94.8 5.2 0.855 40.0 13.1 19.8 13.1 99
Logistic Regression 94.7 5.3 0.848 37.2 13.1 19.4 13.1 98.9
Deep Learning 93.5 6.5 0.867 31.9 29.5 30.6 29.5 96.7
Decision Tree 95.2 4.8 0.500 100.0 1.6 3.2 1.6 100
Random Forest 95.3 4.7 0.739 100.0 3.3 6.3 3.3 100
Gradient Boosted Trees 94.6 5.4 0.915 40.6 21.3 28.0 21.3 98.4

Tagged:

Answers

• Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn
    You can't focus on accuracy here because your dataset is so imbalanced, it is easy to achieve high accuracy by simply predicting the majority class.  In fact, you should probably consider either weighting or sampling to address your class imbalance because it is almost certainly influencing your models.
    AUC is a much better measure of model performance when you have an imbalanced class distribution, so by that measure the GBT is indeed the best performing model.  It is noteworthy that the very simply Naive Bayes is also performing quite well here, and that might be a good starting place or baseline model.