Options

Decision Tree Data exploration with numerical value

b00122599b00122599 Member Posts: 26 Contributor II
edited December 2019 in Help
Hey folks,

I am fairly new to data science but wish to use a deicision tree to explore a dataset. The dataset has no label so I am assigning a label that would be a numerical value of 1-20. Would it be possible to have my label to target only high scorers on that attribute so a the class label would only be those objects which are scored 15 - 20 on the attribute I select as a label? If this make sense would anyone have any ideas of how to do so in rapidminer?

Any help is much appreciated.

Neil. 

Best Answer

• Options
    b00122599b00122599 Member Posts: 26 Contributor II
    Solution Accepted
    Thanks very much for the pointers guys much appreciated

Answers

• Options
    varunm1varunm1 Moderator, Member Posts: 1,207 Unicorn
    Hi @b00122599

Trying to understand what you want, So you are adding a label column whose labels range between 1 and 20 (1,2,3,... 20). But you want to predict only labels between 15 and 20 which you treat as high scores. If you want to apply a decision tree for classification purpose it will train based on all the labels unless you delete unnecessary labels from the data. You can train a model only on labels from 15 to 20 by filtering examples (your model doesn't train on 1 to 14 labeled samples). 
    Regards,
    Varun
    https://www.varunmandalapu.com/

Be Safe. Follow precautions and Maintain Social Distancing

• Options
    Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn
    Or perhaps an even better solution would be to discretize your numerical label and turn it into a nominal attribute instead, where values of 15-20 get the class "high" and the others get the class "low."  This can be done with multiple operators in RapidMiner including Discretize by User Specification or Generate Attributes.