how to find for each object all containing objects within 3km radius using attributes such as lon la

BierseppBiersepp Member Posts: 14 Contributor II
Hello I am new to Rapidminer and I am clueless how I can tackle my problem, 
as a training for RM I would like to find the amount of examples in a data set which are within a 5km radius around an example of a different data set. I found the haversine formula to calculate geographical distances and I also found a aggregate function for orthodromic gis calculations.
For example: I would like to find out how many ATMs are around a museum. In one data set I have a list with museums and its lat/long information and in the other set I have a complete list of ATMs of a large region with its lat/long info. 
The generated attribute to the museum data set would be the amount of ATMs around each museum. Both data sets are rather large and I don't want to to calculate each combination in a cascade and then set a specific filter (which would probably take my whole life to complete). I am sure there is probably a much more convenient way but I don't see how. 

Thx advance for any clues and tips. 
Tagged:

Best Answers

Answers

• BierseppBiersepp Member Posts: 14 Contributor II
    Thank you so far Balázs!
    I already figured that writing your own script might be the best solution. I have tried the cartesian join method, but the memory issue doesn't let me do that with the sheer size of my data sets. 

The tools, you recommend to install in RM, are they still up to date for Version 9.2? (datascientist.at/2015/12/gis-in-rapidminer-1/)
    As well as the other instructions to get the toolbox working for RM?
    The scripting you've done in your example sounds promising for my own approach.

Regards
  • BalazsBaranyBalazsBarany Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert Posts: 955 Unicorn