Sentiment Analysis in German

katyaegodigitalkatyaegodigital Member Posts: 1 Newbie
Hi,

I am new to RapidMiner, but I would like to use it for sentiment analysis to analyze comments on social networks. 
The question is it possible to do with german language? 

Any help is appreciated.

Thx,
Katya

Answers

• kaymankayman Member Posts: 662 Unicorn
    Depends a bit...

The out of the box options (Vader, sentiwordnet etc)  typically use models trained on English content, so you won't get far with German or any other language.

However, if you would have training data available, or can generate this, there is of course no reason at all why you couldn't use German and just generate your own 'sentiment' set, this is in essence just a classification task.

If you don't have trained data available nor the time to manually annotate a data set the 'easiest' way to get this is to crawl sites that offer reviews (for instance amazon.de or otto.de). Reviews are always rated 1 to 5, so you could consider everything scoring 1 or 2 as negative, and 4 or 5 as positive. Use these to define your labels, pre-process your source content (casing, stopwords, lemmatizing etc) and get the top keywords associated with both (scheisse, schlecht etc, you get the idea)

You'll need to combine some different skills but this is indeed possible to do with Rapidminer
  • rfuentealbarfuentealba Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Member, University Professor Posts: 568 Unicorn
    Guten abend, @katyaegodigital,

To complement the response by my sensei @kayman: It is indeed possible to accomplish a lot with RapidMiner. I used Sentiment Analysis as part of a fraud research I conducted in Switzerland and have just two tips for you: