suggestions for (pre)processing my datasource

harri678harri678 Member Posts: 34 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
hello,

i am new with rapidminer and maybe somebody can help me with my problem! my datasource is the mysql database of an analysis tool containing measurement data. every 5 minutes a so called "transmission" is received. one transmission consists of 1-900.000 key-value pairs. those key-value-pairs represent a specific measured property ("descriptor") and the according value ("counter"). for better understanding i put the mysql-table-create statement here:

CREATE TABLE `temp_mem` (
  `transmission_id` int(4) unsigned NOT NULL,
  `descriptor` int(4) unsigned NOT NULL,
  `counter` int(4) unsigned default NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`transmission_id`,`descriptor`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1

the content of this table looks like:

transmission_id  descriptor  counter
1788115            1         170257725
1788115            7              40078
1788115            32            5933
1788115            33            15167
1788116            1         170255453
1788116            7              5863

the so called descriptors are all defined in another sql-table with a short description. only descriptors with counter != 0 are submitted in a transmission. a typical transmission in reallife consists of about 5.000 to 300.000 different descriptors (and that every 5 minutes).

the thing i want to do with rapidminer is analyzing the collected data. i suspect there is a lot of redundant information in this measurement system, so i want to try some exploratory research on it and find the essential descriptors. my problem is the actual format of the stored data. for example using PCA, i would need some format like:

transmission_id    desc_1  desc_2  desc_3 ......  desc_976638
1788115            170257725    0    0    ........    0
1788116            170255453    44  0    ........    1