Options

Challenge with RM Server - Running out of memory

Ramesh_TRamesh_T Member Posts: 2 Contributor I

Hi there!

I am a newbie and this is my first post in the community. We have got a RM server installation on top of a MS SQL server box. We have a job container with 64GB RAM. I have built some workflows using sample data on studio environment and trying to run those processes after necessary changes in server environment connecting to original SQL data tables. These workflows mainly involve some basic data joins and summarization after application of few domain specific business rules.

When I am trying to run a flow, I am quickly running into the issue of Running Out of Memory. The challenge I have is, even the first part of my flow which involves reading few variables from a 40GB dataset is not getting completed. Due to the nature of data and business knowledge involved, I am not in a position to share the XML flow or log files here. 

I have few specific questions for the community:

1. How does RM Server handles memory internally? Will the whole source data file be read and kept in memory while processing?

2. What is the maximum database size at source that can be handled by a 64GB single container?

3. Will you recommend RM server for huge data processing operations (i.e. data running closer to a TB in size).

Thanks,

Ramesh

Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    David_ADavid_A Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RMResearcher, Member Posts: 297 RM Research

if you try to load a whole 40GB table into RapidMiner it could be possible that you can run into memory issues with 64 GB of RAM. If you only need a few variables from the data set, you can either query them directly in the Read Database operator, or in case you have a more complex ETL workflow, take a look a the In-Database Processing extension, at the RapidMiner marketplace.

With that you can shift most of the pre-processing workload from RapidMiner to the database.

Best,
    David

• Options