Options

Rapidminer for data Competition and academic

SpyderManSpyderMan Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
Rapidminer is a very fascinating tools,
However,regrettable, the popolarity is not high in China. I seldom see it is used in some data competition or academicpaper.
I'm a newbie want to learn from data competition.
The quesiton I want to know is wheter rapidminer is a good tool for data competition like Kaggle  and academic goals.
Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• Options
    varunm1varunm1 Moderator, Member Posts: 1,207 Unicorn
    Hello @SpyderMan

I am tempted to respond to this post just based on your name  ;) as Docmusher covered many concepts here. 

Rapidminer is emerging and its emerging quickly in data science markets. As an individual from Academia, I can say that it has a huge potential with some great people developing it on a daily basis. 

The biggest advantage with RM is it helps to learn concepts quickly, when I started datascience its really challenging for me to code and my major focus is on understanding coding (i am not from CS)  rather than concepts, I just followed some python codes online and developed models and sometimes I dont know what is the exact use of some modules. But when I started using RM my focus is more on concepts how can I make a better feature selection, build better models and understand my predictions. This helped me to learn quickly. One more thing is building models is fast in rapidminer, i can build a model in seconds which sometimes take hours in python to code and debug. I still use python mostly using scripting operator in RM and anaconda.

I also had multiple publications with it and working on several others. I didn''t have a chance to work with kaggle data as we collect huge amounts of data for our research. I think you can use for challenges unless they have any requirement.