Classification with ordinal data

MaltePetersenMaltePetersen Member Posts: 7 Contributor I
edited October 2019 in Help
I am new to data science and rapid miner. I made a prediction with automodel with a dataset which persists of nominal and ordinal data. Online I read that a classification is normally only done with nominal data. So this begs the question can my classification be accurate? And which method would be the right one for my use case. 

Best Answers

Answers

• sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager
    @MaltePetersen just to be clear, you are asking about ordinal data (e.g. 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc..) rather than numerical data (1, 2, 3, etc...)?
  • IngoRMIngoRM Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Community Manager, RMResearcher, Member, University Professor Posts: 1,751 RM Founder
    edited October 2019
    First of all: there are only few ML methods out there which can deal with ordinal values out of the box.  All of them focus more on ordinal labels / target columns though, not really on ordinal attributes.  In my opinion and experience, treating ordinal attributes simply as nominals is the way to go and much better than treating them as numericals - exactly for the reason Varun has mentioned. 
    If you treat them as nominal, than some ML algos will either handle each category on its own (like decision trees) or transform typically with one-hot-encoding which essentially leads to treating each category again on its own.  While you are not using the specific relationships between the values this way, all ML algos are powerful enough to assign importance to the values accordingly and I have yet to see a case where this did not work.