technical question about the combined use of clustering and classification

BelleBelle Member Posts: 3 Newbie
Hi there! I'm a newbie to rapidminer and confronted a problem regarding the combined use of the clustering and classification.

Basically, I want to develop k-means clusters of my initial dataset and then further build models to perform the classification and evaluate their performance for EACH of the clusters. I know how to use the operators to perform cluster analysis and classification respectively but have no idea how to deploy the operators to combine them. I tried many ways such as placing the k-means operators before or within the cross-validation but still fail to either run it successfully or get the performance result of each cluster. Can anyone help?
Any response would be greatly appreciated :)

Thank you!

Answers

• lionelderkrikorlionelderkrikor Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Member Posts: 1,195 Unicorn
    Hi @Belle,

Are you using one of the performances operators dedicated to clustering (A priori the Cluster Distance Performance for k-Means) : 

Regards,

Lionel
  • BelleBelle Member Posts: 3 Newbie
    Hi @lionelderkrikor,

Thank you for your replay :)
    And yeah, I tried "Cluster Distance Performance" in my process but found out it was just for evaluating the cluster (e.g. telling me the Davies-Bouldin index of the cluster) while the result I want is to see the performance (say, accuracy) in each cluster. Do I misunderstand those operators?

Thanks! 
  • lionelderkrikorlionelderkrikor Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Member Posts: 1,195 Unicorn
    edited May 2020
    @Belle

I think you have to Generate a "prediction attribute" from your clustering results to perform the correspondence between 
    the cluster(s) results and the classes of your label.

EDIT :