"Usage of Excel, CSV and SPSS Daa-Files"

misskeynesmisskeynes Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited May 2019 in Help
Hello,
I am just getting started with this powerful tool and after following the tutorial I am thrilled because of the many possibilties RapidMiner offers though - or maby because  ;) - beeing an open source Software. Unfortunately I am having some problems with using my data, which is in SPSS, Excel or CSV-Format. When using the Wizard, my SPSS Files are not recognized, the data looks totally chaotic in the preview, my CSV can be recognized, but there are some problems concerning the columns, the wizard tells me, that there are different numbers of columns detected in different rows.  I could not find any conclusion for my problems in the tutorial or in the comunity-discussions. Can somebody please help me?
I´m working with MS Windows XP. Is that a problem? I have installed all new java-updates etc.

Thanks a lot in advance,

greetz from munich
Vera
Tagged:

Answers

• TobiasMalbrechtTobiasMalbrecht Moderator, Employee, Member Posts: 294 RM Product Management
    Hi Vera,

unfortunately the wizard does not support Excel or SPSS file directly. For reading these files you should simply place (drag and drop) a ExcelExampleSource or SPSSExampleSource operator from the New Operator tab, group IO.Examples into the operator tree and specify the file that you want to read in the file parameter. For CSV files the appropriate operator is named CSVExampleSource. I hope that solves your problem,

Regards,
    Tobias
  • Legacy UserLegacy User Member Posts: 0 Newbie
    Hi Tobias,

thanks for you quick reply.

it seems to be kind of muphy´s-law-like: ...now i´m able to import the spss data. great! but: when dragging the spssexamplesource to the left, I resume this errormessage:

G Jun 24, 2008 2:01:27 PM: [Error] Parameter 'filename' is not set and has no default value.