Very Large dataset filesize despite only 2000 examples

Ray_CRay_C Member Posts: 6 Learner I
edited November 2020 in Help
Hi, I am a newbie so apologies in advance if I'm missing something obvious.

I am working on a binary classifier for use with a large synthetic dataset for credit card fraud which I have split and sampled into a training and testing dataset, both with balanced classes, 1000 of each. However, there seems to be something up somewhere along the line. The full dataset with 6.3M examples occupies 538MB. However, my training and test datasets are taking up 95.3MB and should only be a tiny fraction of this size. They also behave like 100MB files, taking ages up to open up etc. Training dataset caused AM to crash. Can somebody tell me where I am going wrong please? TIA Ray.

Best Answer

Answers

• Ray_CRay_C Member Posts: 6 Learner I
    Process xml attached if that helps
  • MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist
    Hi,
    can you use a "Remove Unused Values" operator right before the store? That could do it.

Best,
    Martin
    - Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
    Martin, many thanks for suggestion.

I have added that operator before the stores but it appears just to have moved the bottleneck from AutoModel's (non-handling) of the pseudo 100MB dataset, back to the data prep process itself, where, as I type and for the past 5 minutes, one of the "Remove Unused Values" remains in progress, and may not in fact complete I suspect. 

I think maybe I could do with carrying out some research on the handling of very large datasets.

Just in: RM has crashed with an OOM exception. I've got a Core i7 16GB RAM so I need to change the methodology for sure.
  • kaymankayman Member Posts: 662 Unicorn