RegEx query returns only one word instead of a complete sentence

TobiTeeTobiTee Member Posts: 11 Contributor I
Hey I am new to Rapidminer and try to analyze text for my Bachelor thesis.I have already pre-processed (e.g. tokenized etc. ) the Documents  and would like to use "extract information" and regular expressions to get all sentences containing the word "Kenntnisse". 
I have already tested some expressions on regex101.com and regexr.com, all worked. 
Examples: ^.*(kenntnisse|Kenntnisse|kennt*) or (?m)^.*?(Kenntnisse).*$  But as soon as I use the query in "extract information", I only get the word "Kenntnisse", not the whole sentence / paragraph.

can anyone help me?

Thanks guys!

Best Answers

Answers

• TobiTeeTobiTee Member Posts: 11 Contributor I
    oh man... thank you for that! 
    That's almost a bit embarrassing...

Before I ask more questions, I try a few more things and read further into the topic.

But, i will be back  B)

Hi again, 
    so it looks like the query is working  (?i)[^.\s]*Kenntnisse*[^\n]*
    Only one (the first) match is displayed in the results, where in the editor 4 matches are displayed. 
    Is there again something I have forgotten? I thought this was achieved by the "multiline mode", but it seems to make no difference.

• kaymankayman Member Posts: 662 Unicorn
    Could you share some of your process in demo format? it's a bit hard to see where the issue is without full visibility.
    the [^.\s] part basically means 'anything but actual dots or spaces' so it may not give you the results you need and this is probably the reason you only get the first match and multiline isn't working

Try maybe with something like this : 

(?i)^.*\bkenntnisse\b.*$

The \b means word boundary, so kind of everything but a character, therefore the above kind of states 'if the word kenntnisse is between start (^) and end ($), whatever casing used, to have a match...