Options

"Question about prediction values and applying weights from results"

ElPatoElPato Member Posts: 10 Contributor II
edited June 2019 in Help

To begin with, I am very new to data mining and Rapid Miner. I have been experimenting with the software for several months now and it has certainly proven to be a fantastic and powerful learning and exploration tool. Thank you for your wonderful efforts on this software application!

I do have a couple of questions, though, about how to accurately replicate the prediction values I am receiving. I am performing both classification and regression tests on labelled data. Overall, I am running experiments where I:
1. optimize the number of attributes (either through PCA or Genetic/Evolutionary "optimize selection"). I typically normalize the resulting weights to receive either a 0 or 1 and pass those attributes with a weight of 1 onto the next processing step.
2. I run the same data set with the "selected" attributes through the same learner as the "optimize selection" (typically SVM) in order to obtain the weights/model for the data with the selected attributes.
3. I then apply these weights/model to a new set of unseen data with just the selected attributes and obtain the performance of the weighted model of the data.