Apply Neural Net to Unlabelled Data

John25John25 Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hi everyone,

first of all I'm pretty new to Rapidminer. I'm a student and working with the tool for educational purposes.

I built a model for predicting a binominal outcome using a neural network. I have a training dataset and one unlabelled for application. Both datasets have the same structure. I managed to train my neural network in a cross validation operator and measure the performance on the training data and I can also apply this to my application data. And after applying the model to the application data 3 new columns are created (predicted(outcome), confidence yes/no), but I'm not sure if I'm doing this right... I can't use another performance operator after the application of the model, because it would require a labelled input. Is there another way to get the same performance vector matrix as for the training data in order to check accuracy, precision and recall for the new application data or would this require a labelled data set? How can I check the performance of my model nonetheless?

I'd really appreciate your help!

Greets John

Best Answer

• JEdwardJEdward RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 578 Unicorn
    Solution Accepted

Hi John,

Actually it sounds like you're doing it right, what I tend to do is before building the model, split my data into a Training set & a Test set.  
    So you have 3 datasets: 

1. Training
      • You can train your model on this dataset, in this step I perform a Cross Validation to see how the model 'should' perform in practice.  
    2. Testing
      • Here you have a dataset which you can apply the model on, but it ALSO has the historic labels.  So you can use this to measure the performance of your model.  I can test many models together and select the best performing ones using the Compare Models operator. 
    3. Unlabelled (Scoring)