Looping, Branching, and Appending tutorial challenge process

MickMcWilliamsMickMcWilliams Member Posts: 11 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help

I'm new to RM and am trying to complete the challenge for the Looping, Branching, and Appending tutorial. I'm trying to use the Extract Macro operator to create a macro to hold the value for the number of examples in the smallest Passenger Class group (Second Class N=277) so I can then set the "max size" macro in the Set Macro operator to that value. I'd be VERY grateful if someone could please provide a description of how this can be done. Thanks!

Best Answer

• Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn
    Solution Accepted

Sorry been busy. I will try to answer this tomorrow before I travel. 

Answers

• MickMcWilliamsMickMcWilliams Member Posts: 11 Contributor II

Adding to this request... I believe I'm just one step from figuring out how to do this. I just need to learn how to referance my loop control macro ("loop_value") in a regular expression within a branch operator "expression" parameter. When I use "eval(%{class_size_First})<eval(%{min size})" as the branch operator expression parameter, the process runs without error (though it of course doesn't achieve the objective). I just need to figure out how to replace "eval(%{class_size_First})" with a string that replaced "First" with a reference to the loop_value macro so the first iteration will evaluate to "eval(%{class_size_First})" the second iteration to "eval(%{class_size_Second})" and the third iteration to "eval(%{class_size_Third})". Can anyone tell me the needed syntax to do this? Thanks very much!

• Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

It's a bit hard to understand without a process. Would you mind attaching the XML of hte process and a snapshot of the data that's being fed in?