X means always uses minimum cluster amount

lizzie_a_martinlizzie_a_martin Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hi, I am pretty new to rapidminer, so I apologize if this question is trivial.  I am trying to use X means to cluster some text files.  At first I was using K means, but I didn't know how many clusters to use, so I decided to try X means instead.  However, the X means operator always uses the minimum number of clusters in the given range.  This doesn't seem correct to me, so I'm wondering if I have some settings incorrect or something. Here are the settings I am using:

add cluster attribute is checked

k min: 2

k max: 60

measure types: NumericalMeasures

numerical measure: CosineSimilarity

clustering algorithm: KMeans

max runs: 100

max optimization steps: 100

I have 150 text files that I am trying to cluster, maybe I am not using enough? Any thoughts and tips would be greatly appreciated!

Answers

• sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager

hello @lizzie_a_martin - welcome to the community.  Can you please post your XML in this thread so we can see what you are doing?  Instructions are on the right (see "Read Before Posting #2).

Scott

• Telcontar120Telcontar120 Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,635 Unicorn
    Assuming there isn't a problem with your process, it's probably because you don't have too many examples for clustering, or they are simply too similar to one another so the X-means always resorts to the simplest clustering scheme. But you should also make sure that you've normalized the data beforehand, because clustering is sensitive to absolute ranges of distances, and if you have any other attributes (other than the word vector created by TF-IDF) then differences in scale could be distorting the algorithm as well.
    Brian T.