football top 3 teams league prediction

f_nystf_nyst Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hi everybody!

I'm working on my thesis and want to discover how predictable the final top three teams are in a football league (for example The English Premier League). 

I am new to rapidminer and am not quite sure what to do. My data set consists of the league ranking per week over a period of 10 years. I would like to discover the accuracy percentage of the top 3 teams and next to analyze which team attributes may influence it (for example average weight of players in a team)

Anybody some advice?

thanks in advance for any help

Regards, Frederique

Tagged:

Answers

• MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist

Hi,

it's easy, take german Bundesliga. Bayern München always wins :/.

And seriously: You need to build a team profile. Like what is the average market value, average age etc. Based on this you can start to predict. Building the profile is key here.

Best,

Martin

- Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
  • f_nystf_nyst Member Posts: 4 Contributor I

Haha!! ;-)

Thanks for your reply! If I have the team profile, do you have suggestions on which operator to run on it? Naive Bayes?

And I also want see when I provide the league ranking over the 38 rounds to be played (in the English Premier League for example) after how many rounds a correct prediction comes out. In the example below, in which round can an operator predict the top three (or bottom three) of round 38.

Thanks so much in advance for any help

Rank