Anomaly detection experiment

fwood201fwood201 Member Posts: 13 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

Im undertaking my final year project on machine learning for cyber security and am a complete beginner to RM. I wish to create a process that will demonstrate how effective machine learning techniques are for detecting both signatures and anomalies in an IDS, for this I am using the KD99 cup dataset for which i have labelled and unlabeled sets. the aim is to obviously create a classifier that will train from this data and be able to spot anomalies. I have downloaded the anomaly detection extensions but am also not too sure how to use them. 

Additionally since the data is already labelled I would like to know if it would be better to have the results name the specific attack that happens (i.e smurf, SQLattack etc) or to simply output 'malicious' or 'benign' and how to do this. 

Fraser

Best Answer

• yyhuangyyhuang Administrator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 364 RM Data Scientist
    Solution Accepted

Hi @fwood201,

KDD99 is a widely used data set for anomaly detection. I would suggest to use binary labels as the good starting point (attacks or nomal) because there may not be sufficient cases in several categories of attack for multinominal classification. Watch out for the umbalanced classes.

I did a quick google search and some researchers had sumarized the accuracy of different learners in a paper.

They mentioned that in raw data, you may need to be carefull about the duplicated data.