Best Practice for RapidMiner workstation

severin_glaeserseverin_glaeser Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Dears,

I am a mere System Administrator, so I don't know nothing about data mining and stuff.

One of our miners will get a replacement for his workstation next year. And I want to know what would be best for him.

What will increase his performance most?

A) more RAM (currently 16GB, -> up to 64GB is possible)

B) more Cores (currently 4C8T)

C) more better Cores (currently i7 might be Xeon)

D) more MHz

E) something completely different

Answers

• MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist

Dear Severin,

there is no one-size fits it all answer. In general the two things one want to have is more RAM and more threads on the CPU. There are some algorithms which are by default memory intensive (e.g. FP-Growth) were i would definitly going for more RAM. Also the question is - what is the future in terms of data usage. Will he scale up and learn on more data? If yes, RAM.

Otherwise i would go for CPUs. With the recent update all important operators run in parallel. Twice the amount of cores decreases the runtime by a factor of 2.

Knowing your use case, I would argue for 32GB Ram and more threads.

Best,

Martin

- Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany
  • David_ADavid_A Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RMResearcher, Member Posts: 297 RM Research

Dear Severin,

I completely agree with Martin. But here are some additional thoughts:
    With more threads you will most likely see the biggest speed-up
    (as long you license also supports them).
    Of course a better CPU will always have some effect, but not so much that I would say it always has to be bleeding edge.