How to know ... in a tree model or tree to rules?

cypressproject0cypressproject0 Member Posts: 5 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

Hello there.

I am new to using this tool and I would like you to help me with a doubt that has arisen.

The question is: Is it possible to know automatically which rule is sorting me an instance in the output of a tree model or a tree for rules?

In this case I have an entry with 200 000 examples and 80 attributes. The tree structure that generated the model tree has a depth of 8. So far so good, but now I need to know automatically which decision rule is being applied to classify a new instance.

Is this possible in rapidminer?

Thanks for helping

Best Answers

• earmijoearmijo Member Posts: 270 Unicorn
    Solution Accepted

You can also use the "Operator Toolbox" Extension. This extension has an operator named "Get Decision Tree Path" that will produce a new variable with the path (a text variable) you have to follow to reach the final node for each observation. Be aware that this extension requires the Text Mining extension. So make sure you load it too. 

Here's the process:

Screen Shot 2017-06-07 at 8.49.19 AM.png

And here's the output:

Screen Shot 2017-06-07 at 8.50.45 AM.png

• MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist
    Solution Accepted

Hello,

this concrete operator will work with a meta cost operator, because it's delivering a pure decision tree. It will not work out of the box with ensemble operators like bagging.

By the way, in the converters extesion we will have a operator called Decision Tree to Example set. This converts the table you see in Description to an example set. I think it fits a bit better.

Best,

Martin

- Sr. Director Data Solutions, Altair RapidMiner -
    Dortmund, Germany

Answers