K-means clustering over 8000 text file

eman_alahmadieman_alahmadi Member Posts: 12 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

hi, I'm new to use this platform. I want to use k-means to cluster 8000 text file that contains tags of 8000 image, if it possible to use rapidminer  or not? and if it's possible what is the suitable K and max runs should be chosen?

Regard

Answers

• Thomas_OttThomas_Ott RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 1,761 Unicorn

Yes you can do that with RapidMiner but just to be sure, the texts don't contain actual images? like jpgs or pngs? If you want to do image mining you have to install the Image Mining extension. 

W.R.T. to the # of optimal clusters. I usually use X-means to figure that out automatically. 

Here's a sample process that will get you started. You will need to install the Text Mining extension to do this.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><process version="7.4.000">
    <context>
    <input/>
    <output/>
    <macros/>
    </context>
    <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="7.4.000" expanded="true" name="Process">
    <parameter key="encoding" value="SYSTEM"/>
    <process expanded="true">
    <operator activated="true" class="social_media:search_twitter" compatibility="7.3.000" expanded="true" height="68" name="Search Twitter" width="90" x="45" y="34">
    <parameter key="connection" value="NewConnection"/>
    <parameter key="query" value="rapidminer"/>
    <parameter key="language" value="en"/>
    </operator>
    <operator activated="true" class="select_attributes" compatibility="7.4.000" expanded="true" height="82" name="Select Attributes" width="90" x="179" y="34">
    <parameter key="attribute_filter_type" value="single"/>
    <parameter key="attribute" value="Text"/>
    <parameter key="include_special_attributes" value="true"/>
    </operator>