Logistic regression: Select or change reference group

chris1chris1 Member Posts: 5 Contributor I
edited December 2018 in Help

I am new to RapidMiner but have been working with logistic regression in SAS for years.  When working with categorical attributes in logistic regression, how does RapidMiner choose which cateogry to be the reference category?  Is it possible to change this to assign a different reference category?

For example, say I have Race in my model with five possible values of white, black, asian, other, and unknown and RapidMiner is assigning a weight of 0 to black (with all other weights being relative to black) but I want to change it so asian or white is the reference group with a weight of 0.  Is there a way to do this?

Thanks.

Tagged:

Best Answer

• earmijoearmijo Member Posts: 270 Unicorn
    Solution Accepted

The solution to your problem is that you could create the dummies yourself. 

In this first example, I let RM choose the reference category (they turn out to be Female for gender and First for Passenger Class.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><process version="7.5.003">
    <context>
    <input/>
    <output/>
    <macros/>
    </context>
    <operator activated="true" class="process" compatibility="7.5.003" expanded="true" name="Process">
    <process expanded="true">
    <operator activated="true" class="retrieve" compatibility="7.5.003" expanded="true" height="68" name="Retrieve Titanic" width="90" x="45" y="238">
    <parameter key="repository_entry" value="//Samples/data/Titanic"/>
    </operator>
    <operator activated="true" class="set_role" compatibility="7.5.003" expanded="true" height="82" name="Set Role" width="90" x="179" y="238">
    <parameter key="attribute_name" value="Survived"/>
    <parameter key="target_role" value="label"/>
    <list key="set_additional_roles"/>
    </operator>