Predicting geographic events

tomtom Member Posts: 4 Contributor I
edited November 2018 in Help

Hi,

I'm new to Rapidminer and predictive analytics and I'm attempting to build a model that can predict the likelihood of an event occurring within an area based on years of previous data.

I have several years of data of these events including their lat/long and numerous characteristics about the event. These events have all occurred around a city. Ultimately I'd like to have a grid over a map that divides the city into zones and then use the model to predict the likelihood of the event occurring within each grid square given a specified day of the week, time of the day, weather etc.

I began by choosing an initial area to focus on (main metro area) and filtered out all the data that was not within that "box". I then used Discretize by Binning to divide that area into zones for both the X and Y coordinate and then merged those attributes into one.

I'm not sure if I am on the correct track or not, but at this point I'm stuck on what to do next?

Could anyone point me in the right direction or provide me with a previous tutorial/example for predicting the location of events?

Thanks,

Tom

Answers

• MartinLiebigMartinLiebig Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, University Professor Posts: 3,503 RM Data Scientist

Dear Tom,

thanks for choosing RapidMiner! I think you are on a very good way. The key thing is to create a profile per event. If you can get some meta information for example the part of the city, if it is a mainstreet or something, that would be great. So you need to create attributes describing the place and time (like "Is weekday? Try Date to Numerical for this).

Afterwards i think it turns out to be a time series problem. You want to predict how many events there are tomorrow (or in 1h). A standard technique for this is windowing. You built look at the values of the past X-days to predict the next.