Text Classification/Categorization Help

15059931505993 Member Posts: 2 Contributor I
edited August 2020 in Help

Hey there!

Just looking for some help regarding a project I'm currently working on. I'm very new to RapidMiner and AI in general and I'm looking for some direction.

I have a noSQL MongoDB that is storing 8000 different scraped jobs. The main attributes are Description, Title, Text and Keywords and I have assigned the label jobs to all of them. 

I want to be able to automatically classify/categorize all my jobs into different job sectors based on their job titles, for example a software development job would be categorized into the technology sector. I am really clueless on how to actually go about and implement this and how RapidMiner's different classification models work, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading!  

Answers

• lionelderkrikorlionelderkrikor Moderator, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Member Posts: 1,195 Unicorn

Hi @1505993,

2 methods : 

1. You can "cluster" your 8000 different scraped jobs into "k" clusters where k is the number of job categories you are considering.

for example if your categories envisaged are "technology sector", "Human Ressources sector", "engineering sector", "Marketing sector", then k = 4.

You can use k-means operator to do that.

But difficult to say a priori if this method will be effective on your data.

2. For me a more reliable method is to train a classification model, but it takes more work :