measure support vector clustering validation

njasajnjasaj Member Posts: 18 Contributor II
edited November 2018 in Help
Hi,
I need to know if it is possible to measure validity of clustering by support vector clustering when there is no idea about the number of clusters? and also how to select the proper parameters for support vector clustering in RapidMiner? I mean that is there any operator that measure the quality of support vector clustering in RapidMiner ?

Thanks for your replies.

Answers

• dudesterdudester Member Posts: 15 Maven
    This is more a statistical question than a RapidMiner issue, although I am not an expert in this area.  I do know in using other mining products, that estimating initial clustering parameters is oftentimes as much art as science, and it is helpful to have content background as you explore.  There are various techniques you can use to help you with this; hope this helps

http://www.stanford.edu/~hastie/Papers/gap.pdf
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18270084
  • phani9779phani9779 Member Posts: 4 Contributor I

I have the similar question. I followed the links provided, but it is more in a theoritical form. Is there any operator in Rapidminer to select the optimum clusters based on parameters such as entropy, BIC, AIC etc.

Thanks in advance

• sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager

hi @phani9779 - have you tried just using Auto Model? It will optimize your cluster performance very nicely.

Screen Shot 2018-09-11 at 9.23.14 AM.png

Hi Mr. Scott,

Thanks for your kind reply. Is it possible to conduct SVC clustering in Automodel?

• sgenzersgenzer Administrator, Moderator, Employee, RapidMiner Certified Analyst, Community Manager, Member, University Professor, PM Moderator Posts: 2,959 Community Manager

from @IngoRM: