"text input from a single text file using text plugin"

angshuangshu Member Posts: 3 Contributor I
edited May 2019 in Help
Hi,

I am new to text plugin, I am trying to do some text clustering using rapidminer with text plugin. I have all the text in one file in which each line needs to be considered as a different document. I tried using SplitSegmenter, but since a new file is created for every line, the space in blowing up which will hamper scalability.

Can someone suggest a way i can cluster the different lines in the same text so i dont hae to create different files.

Appreciate your response
Regards
Angshu

Answers

• landland RapidMiner Certified Analyst, RapidMiner Certified Expert, Member Posts: 2,531 Unicorn
    Hi,
    this is possible. You have to do a little trick: Load the file using the CSVExampleSource operator. Configure the operator in a way, that only one column is created from the file! In order to do so, specify a text never occuring in the field for the column separtion regular expression. Then insert a Nominal2String operator to change the value type to string. After this, using the StringTextInput, you can transform the texts into wordvectors for clustring. To simplify your life, I append a sample process:
    <operator name="Root" class="Process" expanded="yes">
        <operator name="CSVExampleSource" class="CSVExampleSource">
            <parameter key="filename" value="C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\sland\Desktop\test.txt"/>
            <parameter key="read_attribute_names" value="false"/>
            <parameter key="column_separators" value="This text never occures in the file --- sdhaksj dhaskljdh alkdjsh sa"/>
            <parameter key="use_comment_characters" value="false"/>
        </operator>
        <operator name="Nominal2String" class="Nominal2String">
        </operator>
        <operator name="StringTextInput" class="StringTextInput" expanded="yes">
            <list key="namespaces">
            </list>
        </operator>